Wanna Buy a Bungalow Colony?

As I mentioned last week, the proverbial one [piece of real estate] that got away for me was a bungalow colony in Sullivan County, put on the market before the real estate balloon of the mid-2000s.

The good news is that there are a number of other colonies and camps for sale upstate–all faring better than the places on Vanishing Catskills–and I came upon Taylored Real Estate in my search for a new property. Not a great UI on the site, but there are a number of colonies, camps, old hotels and resorts for sale. They range from $3.9 million for an old 225-room resort in Liberty, N.Y. (behold the beauty of pink carpets and sky-sized crystal chandelier) to $345,000 for a fixer-upper resort with 10 buildings on 60 acres in Greeneville, NY.

There are plenty of camps and bungalow colonies at prices in between–somewhere between the $1 and $2 million range, which, split among at least 10 folks, hovers in the realm of affordable even for freelance writers. I have yet to find one that I’m willing to drag my pals up to see, but I’ll be looking. Has anybody else considered buying a colony or camp with pals?

About lisa

I'm a freelance writer (and thus, not a homeowner), specializing in real estate, urban planning and sustainability. Also, I just like looking at pictures of houses.

Posted on May 26, 2011, in Bungalow Colonies, Catskills, Cities, Greene, Greenville, Liberty, Second Homes, Sullivan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey! I know this is an oldish post, but I came across it while searching for a bungalow colony. I don’t have money either, but that doesn’t stop me from looking.

    My one that got away? 10 years ago, somewhere pretty close to Woodstock. An entire colony for next to nuthin’. All we wanted was a weekend house though. Stupid! Stupid! Stupid!

    Anyway, if you’ve got some big game plan, count me in.

  2. I’m configuring a game plan, slowly–we’ll definitely search for more bungalow colonies to buy, but it has to be the right price and in the right shape. In the meantime, we should talk about your site and if we can list some properties you’re working on! I kept up on Reclaimed Home much more when I was at Brownstoner, but I’m going to get back on it!

  3. My aunt and uncle went in with friends in ’68 on an entire 16 unit colony in Spring Glen, NY. My father took us to visit, liked it so much that over the next winter, when the colony on the property next door went on sale, they got a bunch of people together and bought. In 1969, they got to buy in for $3500. They ran the place as a corporation, whereby you didn’t own your shack, you owned shares in the corp. This way, if someone left, and you wanted to switch houses, no problem. We spent the summers of our childhood there, out of NYC. As teen-agers, we brought along our friends, as young parents, we brought our children. W had the place till ’94, when my father became ill. Have many happy memories from that place. Thanks, dad.

    • Carmela Federico

      I have two units (the long half of a four-unit house) in Spring Glen Corners, in Spring Glen. Which colony was yours? Ours is located at 1355 Old Route 209 — although, at this point, I”m not sure if it’s a lake or not, thanks to Irene!!??

Leave a Reply

