Upstate Jane: Hey singles or cozy couples, a weekend escape 75 minutes from Manhattan for 194K

Located in Highland Mills at the end of a cul-de-sac, with easy access to 87 and also near scenic Route 9, this little ranch has all the makings of a sweet weekend escape, featuring a huge kitchen for major cooking, an open layout, wraparound deck, and soaring ceilings. It is turn-key, but with a few more high-end finishes, it could be amazing! For 194K your mortgage payment would be approximately $750 a month.

Beds:1 Bed Baths:1 Bath House Size:937 Sq Ft Lot Size:0.59 Acres  For full listing click here

I can see some grilling on that deck and soaking in a hot tub. I can see that wood stove crackling and an amazing meal being prepared while sipping wine in the great room. At 975 square feet, it isn’t large, but it is quite spacious for a 1 bedroom, and big enough to have a nice sectional for guests to sleep on. Plus there is a walkout basement! The best thing is…this close to Manhattan, your guests don’t have to spend the night anyhow! A little over an hour is like me visiting my friends in Brooklyn or vice versa.

About Megan

Designer, blogger, and former Manhattanite turned Upstater

Posted on December 31, 2011, in $100000 to $199000, Orange County, Upstate Jane. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “A little over an hour” fails to mention that everyone I know would need to buy a car first and then pay the $500/mo to garage it. I’ve been on the edge of my seat for weeks now waiting for something that was proximate to mass transit (and I’m not talking trailways bus). I love the blog concept, but upstate includes the east side of the hudson too!

  2. I totally agree-I can try- but I only know this side of the Hudson really. I can’t speak for those areas, so I don’t feel comfortable posting on them. One of the other contributors that lives on that side of the Hudson can handle that, so nag them a little. I will say that this is 27 minutes from the metro north though, so if you wanted to “train it” you still could but you would be adding to the commute. We actually like the Trailways bus, because it is cheaper than the train, and it drops us off within walking distance of our home in Woodstock.
    P.S. email me if you want to know of a garage that you can spend $150 a month on instead of $500..that is what I spent-and I parked on the UWS.

  3. Anonymous- are you looking for a home that you could walk to from the train, or simply within a reasonable drive time from the train? The train in Rhinecliff is the stop we used, and it was 20 minutes from our house in Woodstock. For instance the home I posted in Port Ewan is closer even. I think you can park your car at the station…but not positive.

Leave a Reply

